top of page

What's New in Manga? (7/21/16)

Another trial section for my blog to see how well this'll work: What's New in Manga is set for a daily release, with updates being made as the day goes on since I'll be reading. I understand this is a bit flawed due to odd work times, but it's like a real time "what's in my head?" of what I've just read. To be honest, that'd be beneficial for me to write it, since I tend to forget about the plots of stories after it's been a week or even a whole month since the previous release.

It's most a short description paired with how I feel about the direction of the story, possible character developments, and so on.

It's paved with spoilers. Only read it if: you've already caught up, don't plan on reading it, or if you want to get an idea of what's going on.

List:

Akame ga Kiru! [Chapter 73]

Boku no Hero Academia [Chapter 100]

Bungou Stray Dogs [Chapter 36]

Online - The Comic [Chapter 64]

Tomo-chan wa Onnanoko! [Chapter 361]

Jitsu wa Watashi wa [Chapter 135]

Only Sense Online [Chapter 10]

 

Akame ga Kiru! [Chapter 73]

Bittersweet chapter in the middle of battle. Death flags everywhere, particularly on Wave who came back and Tatsumi being fused with his teigu. But this is Akame ga Kiru! after all. A bit strange how Wave sudden decides to fight against the capital after all this time, but ah well. Wonder what'll happen to Kurome?

Boku no Hero Academia [Chapter 100]

A lot changed. All Might still shows up to the special move training for the students, despite needing to recover. Bakugou is still one-dimensional. Advice is given to students by All Might, which prompts Izuku to go to the support department. He gets blown up, and suddenly boobs. A lot of set-up for the improvement transition.

Bungou Stray Dogs [Chapter 36]

Is it just me, or has there been a drop in art quality? I feel like the series had better line work half way through. Standard nick of time ending, lots of tropes evoked. Biggest thing to happen is Akutagawa getting praised by Dazai, and the whole thing with Kyouka. The end says the war came to a close, so what's on the horizon for the gang?

Online - The Comic [Chapter 64]

Taichi gets caught by the white-faced girl ghost after a botched game of throw-stuff-at-the-ghost. Ghost pulls a clever trick and gets Mai through the window. Doesn't bode well for the protagonists, considering time is of the essence with the assassins in play. This is a surprisingly well-written set back, doesn't feel forced at all.

Tomo-chan wa Onnanoko! [Chapter 361]

Interclass sports tournament coming soon. Misuzu puts on her safari hat and schools Carol on the particularly aggressive behaviors that Tomo is having. I love the humor in this manga, I swear. I'm sure Carol didn't get anything useful out of the conversation.

Jitsu wa Watashi wa [Chapter 135]

While I was yearning for a non-Kuromine chapter, this was definitely not what I was expecting. Usually, the humor is spot on. This feels like a lot of punchlines thrown into a barrel and the barrel happens to spill over. Thankfully, good laughs from the idea of the housewives and the punchline at the end page.

Only Sense Online [Chapter 10]

Jam-packed chapter. Yun provides good support with his newfound support skills and the bombs that he made. Saves the day for his younger sister Myuu to take down the blade lizard. In nice contrast, Yun gets his shop Atelier built 4 days later in this rather bucolic area. He's even hired a shop assistant, an NPC named Kyouko. It looks like a solid start of a shopkeeping journey.

 

Like my other projects, I'll see where the dice rolls. Hopefully I can keep up a daily pace, but that might not be possible with so many things going on. If things go well, I'll add even more manga to what I'm currently reading.

Speaking of which, I've totally gotta catch up with Dokgo Rewind.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page